Spending Time Alone

If someone had suggested I spend a day out and about on my own 12-18 months ago, I would have been horrified. I would have frantically text everyone in my contacts, sent a snapchat and posted a Facebook status to see if there was anyone available to spend time with me.

How things have changed.

It seems that part of getting older, is becoming comfortable being in your own company. Not needing someone with you to “hold your hand” and feeling happy doing things alone.

This weekend my hubby was taking part in a cycling event in Abergavenny. I got up and left home with him, went to watch him set off and then walked into the small town for a wander around all on my own.

I looked in all of the charity shops, mooched about it all the lovely little boutique style shops and high street shops, had a hot drink in costa and read my book and then once I had done all this I headed back to the park to wait for hubby to cross the finish line. I sat in the sun, and read my book and felt totally at peace with the world.

I have been spending more and more time on my own, and I have actually been quite enjoying it.

So what has brought around this change. I’m not really sure. Perhaps I feel more confident now I don’t weigh as much, maybe it’s my age, perhaps it’s the not knowing people in the area I live that has made me happier to be alone. Who knows.

But the fact of the matter is, I enjoy my own company. Especially if that involves some quiet time to read.

So what do you all thing? Do you love spending time alone or does it make you feel uncomfortable? I’d love to know.

Leave a comment