I heart my Dr Marten’s 

I got my first pair of Dr Marten’s for my 15th Birthday. I was going through a bit of an alternative phase and was despatate for some black boots to wear with my stripy tights and tartan mini skirts. Luckily my Mum and Dad gave in and got me a pair and I’m pleased to say they are still going strong almost 15 years later. 

Here is a picture of my original babies… 

I still love to pop these on with some black tights and a little dress and they are so comfy still. 

I’m sad to say it took me 13 years to get another pair and once again these for courtesy of Mum and Dad, only this time they were a Christmas present. I went for the black Polley t-bar shoes and I have worn these over, and over again and I think it was these that re-ignited a true love of DM’s that a teenager can’t possibly fund. I love to wear these with skinny jeans or with a dress in summer and winter. I love that they have an almost school shoe look to them (and oh how I would have loved shoes like this when I was at school). 


Since then my collection has grown. As a teenager I was despatate for a pair of Mary Janes however I never actually got a pair. Last summer while shopping in Cardiff we noticed that there was a DM sale on and I managed to get myself these bad boys… 


And for my birthday last year I got these… 

This was a decision that I made following years of buying cheap boots that only lasted around a month. I saw these in the shop and decided I would quite like a pair for my birthday to wear during autumn and winter. Best decision EVER! They not only lasted me a whole Autumn and winter but they also have a lot of wear left in them. Despite the way they look they are surprisingly light and soooo comfortable – I even wore them whilst walking around Rome and found them to be more comfortable than my trainers. I love these and would buy more pairs. 

For Christmas last year my hubby got me these…

I love these. Whenever I wear them I get compliments and I CANNOT stop staring at my feet when I wear them! I’m sure Ed is fed up of my gushing compliments of these shoes whenever I wear them. These are perfect with tights and dresses or with jeans. I especially love to team them with stripes! Who doesn’t love floral shoes? 

This brings me to my final pair… I got these yesterday after months of eyeing them up… I’m sure I popped into the store at least 20 times to stare at them and stroke them and added them to my online basket more than once! Reduced to £65 (from £95) I had an absolute bargain and I can’t wait to break these bad boys in and start wearing them! 

These are the bubblegum pink Polley t-bars from the pastel range and I am in LOVE. 

I’m pretty sure these will become a staple in my summer wardrobe and I’m already planning outfits to wear with them… I may even wear them to work tomorrow! 

My advice to you about Dr Marten’s

Although they look beautiful they WILL rub! Always arm yourself with plasters, spare socks etc. Once you have broken them in they will fit like a dream and be the comfiest shoes you have ever owned. Persevere… it makes me sad when people give up after one wear! 

If you are passing a shop pop in to have a look what they have in store… You may just find yourself leaving with something lovely! 

3 thoughts on “I heart my Dr Marten’s 

Leave a Reply

