Quilts

Well… as promised I am giving you an update on my first attempt at quilting. 

Firstly I decided to make a small car seat sized quilt – my idea was start small to see if I can do it and the answer was I can! Yay for me! I made the first one using dinosaur print fabrics which I brought as a fat quarter set from Hobbycraft. This was the ideal starter as I got a mix of 6 fabrics for £7; perfect for a play about. I backed it in a navy fleece so it will be warm and cosy for little ones on journeys. 

Here is said little dinosaur quilt:  

I am now working on another quilt; this one is for a gift. For this one I brought 4 metres of different cotton fabrics from my local haberdashery. This is more of a space theme and I am in love with some of these fabrics. Quilt numero two will be slightly bigger; more cot sized, but will once again be backed with a fleece for warmth. I think for this I will go for a grey fleece but comments are welcome (I intend on buying this tomorrow). 

Here is a sneaky peak of my space themed quilt:   

I am loving making these and am hoping to make lots more. I may even try making a “memory” quilt out of old clothing.

Watch this space… 

www.facebook.com/tonkstreasure

2 thoughts on “Quilts

  1. Love your car seat quilt, that dinosaur fabric is great! Keeping it small and manageable to start with is also a good idea, it certainly helps with the feeling of achievement when you complete a project 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

