Fabric, Glorious Fabric! 

In my home town of Hereford there is an adorable little fabric shop called Doughty’s and they have now opened a warehouse full of lots of amazing fabrics. Last Thursday lunchtime I went on a little jolly with a friend to the warehouse and I got myself some pretties. 

I am usually a floral or woodland themed fabric sort of girl. I am a sucker for foxes, dainty prints and anything that looks slightly vintage. On Thursday I went for something a little different.

One of my lovely friends is having a baby and so I thought I would try something a little different and make a quilt for the new arrival. With this in mind I got these fabrics…   

It was love at first sight with the rocket ship material and I can think of a million things I could make out of it and it wasn’t long before I had chosen the other 3 materials to go with it. I love the grey, green and yellow together and I thought the alien material also went perfectly with the theme. 

I have to say I am so happy with these I may just have to make myself a little something with them. 

I’ve not yet started the quilt but I promise to post pictures as I go along – I need to do a little bit of research before I start. I have pre-washed my cottons however. 

I did however buy something girly whilst I was there and this was a real impulse buy. 

I am a sucker for anything mermaid (I am a huge Disney Little Mermaid fan) and I love all things seaside and nautical so I just HAD to get myself some of this.  

I think it looks like mermaid scales and I’m still deciding what I can make myself with this. Something nautical I’m sure. 

For those of you who are interested here is the online store for Doughty’s http://www.doughtysonline.co.uk

Aaaaand if anyone would like to take a look at some of the other things I have made then you can pop over to my page http://www.facebook.com/tonkstreasure 

I promise to keep you all updated with the progress of my quilt 🙂 in 

 

Leave a Reply

